ChaosSearch API Key Endpoints

Users can also manage their ChaosSearch API keys using three API endpoints.

Creating a ChaosSearch API Key

To create an API access key and its associated secret key, you can use the apiKey/create endpoint. Make sure that you have your user authorization and security values, which you can get in several ways, including by creating a JWT.

https://domain.chaossearch.io/user/credential/apiKey/create
GET : provision
Response: 201 CREATED
Body { “keyId” : String , “secretKey” : String }

OR
503 Internal Server Error

Example:

curl 'https://<mycompany>.chaossearch.io/user/credential/apiKey/create' \

{"keyId":"EFGKEY4SQQUUTBBMXVWD","secretKey":"dhABCFszdhwcqR4Ni+tO5yQzGW2vGmirf7nI9ALW"}

Listing the ChaosSearch API Keys

To display a list of all the key IDs associated with your user account, you use the apiKeys/list endpoint:

https://domain.chaossearch.io/user/credential/apiKey/list
GET : enumerate
Response: 200 OK
Body { “keyIds”: [ id : String ] }

503 Internal Server Error

If you are authenticated as the tenant user, the list command displays a list of all of the keys created for all subaccount users and the root user. A subaccount user sees a list of the keys created specifically for their subaccount.

curl 'https://sumo.chaossearch.io/User/credential/apiKey/list' \
  -X GET \

{"keyIds":["XYZ6UW7G3R8XHGZROABC","ABCX08KS0A3MTQCJPVXC",
"EFGKEY4SQQUUTBBMXVWD"]}

📘

NOTE:

The list command displays only the key IDs, never the secret keys.

Deleting a ChaosSearch API Key

To delete a ChaosSearch API key and its associated secret key, you use the apiKey/delete endpoint:

https://domain.chaossearch.io/user/credential/apiKey/delete?keyId=

DELETE : deprovision
PATH : keyId=
The keyId is the ID string that you want to remove (deprovision)
Response: 200 OK | 404 Not Found

curl 'https://sumo.chaossearch.io/User/credential/apiKey/delete?keyId=EFGKEY4SQQUUTBBMXVWD' \
  -X DELETE \

{"keyId":"EFGKEY4SQQUUTBBMXVWD"}

When you delete a key, a successful response displays the key ID value. If you list the keys, the deleted key should no longer appear in the list of keys for your user account.


Did this page help you?